【LINE app】Why people pop up on “Friend Recommendations” list?

スクリーンショット 2016-07-01 10.03.40

Hello, this is Shiho.

Are you enjoying LINE? Definitely I am!

Today’s topic is “Friend Recommendations” which appears on “Add Friends” page on LINE.

Basically, people who might be your friends should be on the “Friend Recommendations” list, though people who you do not know may also be on the list.

Now I am going to show you the basic knowledge of “Friend Recommendations” and the function which will be useful for you.

 

Why people pop up on “Friend Recommendations” list?

There are 4 cases can be considered.

  • Someone searched for you with phone number                                        
  • Someone searched for and added you as a friend with LINE ID 
  • Someone added you as a friend with QR cord
  • or Else

There are 4 cases, though the most popular way to add friends is by searching either phone number or LINE ID.

 

Someone searched for you with phone number 

If someone has already had your phone number in his/her contacts, and he/she has ticked “Auto Add Friends” option on LINE, you will automatically be added to his/her friends’ list on LINE.

 

Someone searched for and added you as a friend with LINE ID  

If you have ticked “Allow Others to Add by ID” on LINE, people can add you as a friend by searching for your ID.

Using LINE ID to add friends is a popular way. Although if your LINE ID is spread unintentionally, you might be added to someone’s friends’ list.

If your LINE ID is spread on SNS, it might be used for the wrong purposes which is really risky.

Ensure to make your ID unique, and it is better not to include your personal information (e.g. Date of Birth) or common words.

 

Someone added you as a friend with QR cord                                                      

When someone read your QR Cord and added you as a friend, he/she will be on your “Friend Recommendations” list. Each LINE account has its QR cord. If you have sent a picture of QR cord to someone, or opened to public, you may be added as a friend by using QR Cord Reader.

 

Or else

Sometimes the reason why someone is on “Friend Recommendations” list is not written. In that case, there are 2 cases. Someone in “Groups” on LINE added you as a friend, or someone in “Groups” put your personal information, such as ID, on “Chats” and you were added as a friend.

 

 

How to block and hide someone on “Friend Recommendations” list

It is possible to block and hide people who you do not want to be on “Friend Recommendations” list.

Now I am going to show you how.

 

1467203631734

Select the person who you want to block and hide.

Long press for android users, and slide to the left for iPhone users.

 

1467203631790

Select “Block”

1467203631808

 

There is another way to block and hide.

1467203662876

Simply tap the person who you chose.

1467203662999

Select “Block”

That’s it!

 

 

What you can do if you do not want to appear in someone’s “Friend Recommendations” list

If you have many people on “Friend Recommendations” list, it is better to change settings on LINE. It is not perfect, though you will probably get less people on the list.

 

1467203662910

1467203662934

Untick the box

 

1467203698231

If you are often “added by your phone number”, unticking the box will work. By unticking the box, you are not going to be added as a friend automatically even if your phone number has registered to his/her contacts.

 

1467203698267

1467203698291

 

1467203698311

 

In the same way, if you untick “Allow Others to Add by ID”, you are not going to be added as a friend by searching for your ID.

Even if your ID is open to public or you are using a very simple ID, people cannot add you as a friend.

 

1467203707655

1467203707698

 

If you think your QR cord has spread, generate a new QR cord so that the existing QR cord (and the URL) is no longer available.

If many people are on your “Friend Recommendations” list with no clear reasons, you should doubt your account is shared with many and unspecified users by using “Contact Info” function. Not joining “Groups” which unspecified number of people are in, or leaving that kind of “Groups” will work because we cannot make the function disable.

 

Conclusion

Functional and useful but tricky “Friend Recommendations”.

If you do not want to appear on public, it can be beneficial to know these functionalities to protect yourself from loss of privacy.

Sponsored Link

One Response

  1. Ruth 2017年5月1日

Leave a Reply