How to delete messages on LINE chat room and points to make note of

 

%e3%82%b9%e3%82%af%e3%83%aa%e3%83%bc%e3%83%b3%e3%82%b7%e3%83%a7%e3%83%83%e3%83%88-2016-11-08-23-07-11

 

Hello. This is Shiho.

Today’s topic is “How to delete messages on LINE chat room and points to make note of”

LINE is so popular no matter where you are in the world.

It is very useful as a casual communication tool especially when you want to share some information with other people.

 

As you all know, you can “chat” on LINE.

And deleting messages on LINE chat room has become possible these days.

Let’s see what is going to happen when you delete messages on LINE chat room.

 

How to delete messages on LINE chat room

You can delete messages which you sent to someone by mistake from your LINE chat room.

Open chat room

Tap “V” icon at the top right

Tap “Edit Messages”

line-70-8pics_1049

Tap “Delete Messages”

line-70-8pics_3748

Tick the messages which you want to delete

Tap “Delete (2)”

line-70-8pics_8194

If you do not need all the chat history, selecting and deleting a message one by one might bother you.

In that case, you can delete all the chat history at once.

The settings is quite easy.

Let me show you how.

 

Open “Chats & Voice Calls” from “More” > “Settings”

Tap “Clear Chat History”

 

line-70-8pics_2220

As the following Pop-Up says, once you clear chat history, you will not be able to get it back.

If you agree with it, tap “Remove”

line-70-8pics_9361

 

It is also possible to delete stickers

Open chat room

Tap “V” icon at the top right

Tap “Edit Messages”

line-70-8pics_1049

Tap “Delete Messages”

line-70-8pics_3748

Tick the sticker you want to delete

line-70-8pics_6200

Tap “Delete (2)”

 

Be careful! You cannot delete messages from the recipient’s LINE chat room

%e5%90%8d%e7%a7%b0%e6%9c%aa%e8%a8%ad%e5%ae%9a

If you sent a message to someone by mistake, you can delete it.

However, you can only delete the message on your device.

Even if you send a message on LINE and delete it, the recipient will still be able to read it.

You cannot cancel or delete messages that you have already sent.

Check carefully if you are sending a right message to the right person.

You can only delete messages on your LINE chat room

Deleting messages on LINE chat room is for organizing your LINE “Chats”.

 

You should always keep in mind that you cannot cancel or delete messages once they have been sent.

Deleting messages looks like there is no point, though you can hide the fact that you sent the messages by deleting them.

Many users may wonder its effectiveness because you cannot delete messages on the recipient’s side.

Is it really so?

 

However, certainly there is occasion where you will thank to the function.

  • Hiding the evidence of cheating or affairs
  • Hiding secrets between you and the recipient
  • Hiding confidential information at your workplace

Deleting messages for such important information will work, though it has nothing to do with most of people.

 

That is why the main purpose of deleting messages for now is organizing your LINE “Chats”.

There are rumors that we are not going to be able to delete messages in near future.

It is not what LINE Corporation officially announced, but it is true that some people have been in a trouble because of the function.

 

How was today’s topic?

I have explained how to delete messages on LINE chat room.

Many functions on LINE only affect your side, and it does not affect recipients. Although, many users tend to misunderstand that those functions affect both themselves and recipients.

As I explained earlier, deleting messages only affect messages on your LINE.

Messages are not something you and the recipient share.

So you have no authority to delete messages shown on recipient’s LINE chat room.

Check carefully before you send a message to someone.

 

Sponsored Link

One Response

  1. CT 2017年5月13日

Leave a Reply